The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

Production Team

Directed by Dan Pellitier
Musical Direction by Keith Strang
Choreography by Ilse Morgen
Produced by Heidi Newkirk

About The Show

Winner of the Tony and the Drama Desk Awards for Best Book, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee has charmed audiences across the country with its effortless wit and humor. Featuring a fast-paced, wildly funny and touching book by Rachel Sheinkin and a truly fresh and vibrant score by William Finn, this bee is one unforgettable experience.

An eclectic group of six mid-pubescents vie for the spelling championship of a lifetime. While candidly disclosing hilarious and touching stories from their home lives, the tweens spell their way through a series of (potentially made-up) words, hoping never to hear the soul-crushing, pout-inducing, life un-affirming "ding" of the bell that signals a spelling mistake. Six spellers enter; one speller leaves! At least the losers get a juice box.

They also learn that winning and losing, isn't everything.

A riotous ride, complete with audience participation, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee is a delightful den of comedic genius.


Cast of Characters

Olive Ostrovsky Emily Fitzgerald
William Morris Barfee Dereck Deblois
Logainne SchwartzandGrubenierre Jolie Nadeau
Chip Sam Boyle
Leaf Coneybear Patrick Regan
Marcy Park Allison Rigg
Mitch Mahoney Aaron Foss
Douglas Panch Mike Wood
Rona Lisa Peretti Ilse Morgen